Pangasinan Provincial Capitol building in Lingayen, Pangasinan is the present seat of the province’s government. It is amongst the most beautiful capitols in the Philippines and is included in the list of the Architectural Treasures of the country by the National Commission for Culture and Arts. The edifice also holds as historical value as it has survived the destruction of World War II.
Pangasinan Provincial Capitol was designed by Daniel Burnham, an American architect and urban designer. It was constructed on April 21, 1917, during the American colonial period, completed in 1918, and inaugurated on February 11, 1919. The construction of the edifice cost three hundred thousand pesos and was headed by the seventh governor of Pangasinan named Daniel Maramba.
In 1949 during World War II, the capitol was extremely destroyed. It underwent reconstruction the same year, which was led by Enrique Braganza, the fourteenth governor. It was again restored to its original state by Governor Victor Agbayani with the help of architect Rene Luis Mata.
Then from 2007 to 2008, the edifice had a general renovation under Governor Amado T. Espino along with architect Chris David, which resulted to a major change in the historical mark of the interior.
The 100-year-old structure extends to about twenty-five hectares of land, which is made of concrete with limestone on its exterior. It boasts of its neo-classical architectural design that was preserved by the locals. The style can be seen through the use of striking columns, pediments, and entablatures.
The two-story capitol is rectangular and is placed on a small platform with several steps. The façade has a few doors shaded by a canopy. Inside are spacious rooms, high ceilings, and corridors with large windows. Included in the plan are the courthouse, storeroom, jail, garage, and residences for the governor and treasurer.