Information about Casa de Real Iloilo
Casa De Real Iloilo
Casa de Real Iloilo, or the “Old Capitol Building of Iloilo”is a building with a colorful history that has rendered it to be considered as a national historical site. It is a beautiful piece of heritage and architecture.
Construction of the Casa Real or old Capitol building was initiated by then Governor Jose Maria Carles who served from 1862 to 1867. The architecture of the building originally followed the format of the traditional Filipino “Bahay na Bato” from its concrete ground floor and wooden upper floor, elaborate interior details, a grand staircase, and spacious halls. But the building’s architecture has been altered a couple of times, in 1910 they rebuilt the second floor using concrete. Additions to the facade, and an extension in the 60’s. On November 1998, a fire of unknown origin damaged the Provincial Capitol Building of Iloilo, engulfing its extension at the back leaving only the main building. This resulted in the construction of a new six-storeys Provincial Capitol building of Iloilo initiated by Gov. Arthur D. Defensor, Sr. A building that now stands behind the historic building. This historic building has also assumed many names throughout the years. It had been known at one time or another as Casa Gobierno de Iloilo, Palacio del Gobernador, Casa Real, Provincial Building, its most controversial title of “President Garcia Hall”, even when President Garcia was still alive which is a violation under Republic Act 1059. After that was settled they renamed it to Iloilo Provincial Capitol and retracted back to Casa Real in 2016.
Casa De Real Iloilo Is a testament to Iloilo’s beautiful past. nowadays, Casa Real is a preferred venue for rivate parties, government functions and cultural events. But the architecture of the building is timeless. Even after the renovations, the essence of “Bahay na bato” is still there, and the building is a sight to behold.