The Molo Mansion, also known as the Yusay-Consing Mansion, is one of the most outstanding example of historical homes not just in Iloilo, but the entire country. This grand structure, which faces the town plaza and St. Anne Parish Church, was rescued and restored by a private developer after years of ruin. Now it's a heritage museum with a cultural retail shop that showcases products and local delicacies.
The mansion was built in the 1920s and was first occupied by Dona Petra Lacson. She married Estanislao Yusay, who was Manila’s judge of the Court of First Instance. The couple had 10 children and their family became one of the most influential in the Molo district.
The mansion was later occupied by Iloilo Governor Timoteo Consing Sr., who served from 1935 to 1937. The house became more famous when it hosted two Philippine Presidents, Manuel L. Quezon and Sergio Osmeña during their official trips to the city.
The Molo Mansion exhibits classical Philippine colonial architecture. The interiors have high ceilings and graceful arches. Intricate decorative carvings are nothing but impressive. The facade boasts of a Neoclassical balustrade and there are wooden double swing-out windows that open to the refreshing gardens below.
Years of neglect ruined the mansion so much people thought it will be gone for good. Retail giant SM Group bought the property from the Consing family in 2014. SM restored the mansion to its former glory.
After marveling at the grand architecture and furnishings of the mansion, visitors can dine on Ilonggo classic fare such as Pancit Molo and hot chocolate at Cafe Panay, a coffee shop located at the ground floor of the mansion. There's also Table Matters, a cozy food stall situated under an old balete tree and serves ice cream flavored by blue flowers that are grown in the gardens of the mansion.